I've taken the plunge...

For discussion, images, etc., of the Star Trek Online RPG.

Moderator: jayphailey

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby captainuniverse » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:20 am

My apologies. Correction made. :oops:

And thank you for the information. \Y/
"All of Time and Space; everywhere and anywhere; every star that ever was. Where do you want to start?"

"Geronimo!"

Thanks to FltCpt. Bossco for my Tattok avatar. This is Tattok when he assumed the position of Commander-in-Chief, Starfleet in the year 2411.
User avatar
captainuniverse
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 7254
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby CamSPD » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:36 am

That's something else I was in the midst of figuring out when my desktop computer farked up on me: how to assign specific duties to each of my bridge officers. If I'm not mistaken, you're supposed to be able to designate a pilot, security officer, etc., but I never figured out how.
"Ah! She is a writer!"
We are free because of the brave.
Image
User avatar
CamSPD
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 3103
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Space, the final frontier.

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:07 am

It's in the "Officers/ship" screen. You can assign bridge officers to specific posts, but not duty officers. They represent the "lower decks".

They can be sent on missions that increase your scores in various subjects, which unlocks missions in those areas (such as First Contacts for those with high Diplomacy scores).
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:00 am

Whoops! I'm wrong. It's under the "Assignments" tab.

I'll be posting a couple of pictures shortly.
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:08 am

Amy takes a moment to show some love to Max, her pet Tribble:

Image

She's not a Nottingham, but she's pretty:

Image

Contemplating the Infinite...

Image

Our intrepid admiral takes a moment to relax in the ship's lounge (which I have yet to name):

Image

This is actually very close to my image of a Nottingham class bridge. It's the Diplomat series bridge:

Image

And it's not Christmas without snow (at least to Amy). Here she watches the ice track races in Q's Winter Wonderland:

Image

(I upped the brightness on all of these. They're a bit on the dark side, normally.)
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby CamSPD » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:52 pm

AdmiralSirJohn wrote:Whoops! I'm wrong. It's under the "Assignments" tab.


Last I was in the game, I know you could select certain officers as your security officer, science officer, and engineer for space combat and such, in the same manner as you could select a science officer, security officer, and engineer for your away team for ground missions. What I'm talking about is being able to designate who is your Executive Officer, Conn Officer, Chief Medical Officer, etc. I'd read somewhere on the forums they were supposed to be enabling players to do that, but either they hadn't when I was forced to stop playing or I hadn't figured out how to do it.
"Ah! She is a writer!"
We are free because of the brave.
Image
User avatar
CamSPD
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 3103
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Space, the final frontier.

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby CamSPD » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:53 pm

And that's not a bad bridge. Whenever I get back into the game, I'll have to get a wide view of all my bridges...
"Ah! She is a writer!"
We are free because of the brave.
Image
User avatar
CamSPD
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 3103
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Space, the final frontier.

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:40 pm

Yeah, it's in the "Assignments" area under the "Department Heads" tab.

And thanks!
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:46 pm

Well, my 15-day Buddy Invite ran out, so I ponied up the $14.99 for a retail license key and 30 days of play, which should bring me close to the F2P launch on Jan. 17. Fortunately, the friend who rebuilt my desktop after its unfortunate motherboard crash gave me the cash as a Christmas present.

It unlocked a few goodies. 4 new bridge officer slots (so there aren't 4 copies of each of my department heads on the bridge - THEY'RE CLONES, I TELL YOU! CLONES!), the ability to change from NCC to NX registry, the KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN! emote (I'll have to take a pic of that), and this...

Image

Since Amy was at DS-9 anyway, she stopped into the tailor's shop and had Garak's successor whip her up something a bit more comfortable, for off-duty wear.

Oh, and I also bought the open collar option, and I'll be buying the Jupiter style uniforms as soon as I can refine enough dilithium to trade for some Cryptic points.
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby JaceRidley » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:04 pm

Wow dude, You should really try upping your display settings. The game is SO pretty on higher resolutions and texture settings.

That's magic in a cheetah print coat, Just a slip underneath it I hope
Asking if I can have one of those, Organic cigarettes that she smokes
Wraps her lips round the Mexican coke, Makes you wish that you were the bottle
Takes a sip of your soul and it sounds like…

User avatar
JaceRidley
-The Captain-
-The Captain-
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:16 pm

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:38 pm

I play it in my primary monitor's native 1600 x 900 resolution and color depth. Increasing the brightness of the screenshot is what washes it out.

The last image was resized by Photobucket when I upped the brightness.
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby JaceRidley » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:33 pm

AdmiralSirJohn wrote:I play it in my primary monitor's native 1600 x 900 resolution and color depth. Increasing the brightness of the screenshot is what washes it out.

The last image was resized by Photobucket when I upped the brightness.


Oh it's not the washout I'm talking about. I can tell it's brighter. But upping the brightness won't diminish the textures/anti-aliasing. I can tell by the blurriness of your uniform, poly-edges on your hair, and the background angles.

I suggest you check your in-game video settings and set most everything(except Bloom) up higher. Especially Anti Aliasing and textures/models. You will be amazed at how pretty this game can be on highest settings.

That's magic in a cheetah print coat, Just a slip underneath it I hope
Asking if I can have one of those, Organic cigarettes that she smokes
Wraps her lips round the Mexican coke, Makes you wish that you were the bottle
Takes a sip of your soul and it sounds like…

User avatar
JaceRidley
-The Captain-
-The Captain-
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:16 pm

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby AdmiralSirJohn » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:36 pm

Well, I have an older video card, so I need to keep most of the settings down a bit. I'll be replacing it in a few months. I'll try, but I suspect it'll kick my current card's azz...
Image
(Yes, the image is me, but the photomanip wasn't done by me.)
User avatar
AdmiralSirJohn
Federation Attaché
Federation Attaché
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Aboard USS Marshal Martz, NCC-78506 (though physically in Jamestown, NY)

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby CamSPD » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:53 pm

Precisely why I can't play it on my laptop. I have a dual core processor on it, but the graphics card is too old (and this lappy is only 4).
"Ah! She is a writer!"
We are free because of the brave.
Image
User avatar
CamSPD
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 3103
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Space, the final frontier.

Re: I've taken the plunge...

Postby JaceRidley » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:20 pm

I'm about to post some images, so you'll see what I mean... I've been meaning to do this anyway.

That's magic in a cheetah print coat, Just a slip underneath it I hope
Asking if I can have one of those, Organic cigarettes that she smokes
Wraps her lips round the Mexican coke, Makes you wish that you were the bottle
Takes a sip of your soul and it sounds like…

User avatar
JaceRidley
-The Captain-
-The Captain-
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:16 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Star Trek Online

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron